Monday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson
photo by Brittany Feenstra

News leaked that Animal Collective are releasing a new double album titled Tangerine Reef next month. Originally planned to be announced on July 16, one Reddit user found it a preorder listing on French retailer Fnac. The site shows the album art, release date, and a brief description, which translates to “Animal Collective collaborated with the collective Coral Morphologic during a series of performances in order to alert and sensitize individuals to reef protection. The result is Tangerine Reef, the soundtrack of a planetary cause.” The band confirmed the listing's validity in a direct message conversation on Instagram with a fan. Tangerine Reef follows-up 2016’s Painting With and two EPs from 2017, The Painters and Meeting Of The Waters. Animal Collective premiered the Tangerine Reef material live at Festival of Disruption in May. Animal Collective will be in Seattle on Sunday, July 29 to perform their 2004 album Sung Tongs in full. [ Paste ]

Recently, Ty Segall and White Fence announced their sophomore collaborative album, Joy. It's their first album in six years, following their 2012 debut record, Hair. Today, they've shared the second single off the album, “Body Behavior.” The psychedelic single follows last month’s “Good Boy.” Joy is out July 20 via Drag City. Segall released Freedom’s Goblin earlier this year and White Fence’s Tim Presley released his debut album with Cate Le Bon under the moniker DRINKS, Hippo Lite, in April. Ty Segall and White Fence will take the Neumos stage together on Monday, October 8. Segall will come back soon after to play a solo, acoustic set at Neumos on Saturday, October 27. [ Consequence of Sound ]

Sophie Allison released her acclaimed debut album as Soccer Mommy, Clean, earlier this year. Today, she’s unveiled a video of album-highlight “Scorpio Rising.” The song is currently an Apple Music exclusive and can be viewed here. If you don't have an Apple Music subscription, revisit her performance of the track in the KEXP live room below. Clean is out now via Fat Possum. [ Under the Radar ]


Over the weekend, Justin Vernon and Aaron Dessner’s Eaux Claires music festival took place for its fourth year. This year, Vernon and Dessner decided to keep the lineup under wraps, only releasing the schedule the beginning of the festival’s first day. The 2018 fest was full of collaborations, including the “Eaux Claires Women’s Choir” which was made up of Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, Anais Mitchell, Channy Leaneagh (of Polica), Kristín Anna Valtýsdóttir (formerly of múm), and Gordi. They joined forces for some covers, including Antony and the Johnson’s “Another World,” Carter Family’s “Keep on the Sunny Side,” and Gillian Welch’s “Everything is Free.” Eaux Claires also saw Vernon and Dessner play new material from their Big Red Machine project as well as Vernon covering Bob Dylan’s “I Shall Be Released” with Moses Sumney and Francis and the Lights. [ Stereogum ]


Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Friday Music News

Underworld and Iggy Pop, Parquet Courts, and the Justin Vernon/Dessner brothers band Big Red Machine share new music.

Read More
Music News

Thursday Music News

New music from Christine and the Queens, Toro y Moi with Rome Fortune, and Marlon Williams.

Read More
Daily Roundups

Tuesday Music News

Father John Misty donates entire week-long sales proceeds to RAICES, Avey Tare releases new remix EP featuring his Animal Collective bandmates, and JAY-Z unveils trailer for his Trayvon Martin documentary series.

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site