Tuesday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson
photo by Bebe Labree Besch

Mitski has shared the second song from her forthcoming, Be The Cowboy. Titled “Nobody,” the song comes with a very surreal video by Christopher Good starring Mitski in a bizarre room, where nothing is quite right. Shot in Kansas City, Mitski explains the filming process: “I’ve never been able to take this much time to shoot a video, so it was wonderful to have the space to get the details right, as well as actually hang out and have fun with everyone involved,” Mitski said in a statement. “This video made me fall unexpectedly in love with Kansas City.” Be The Cowboy is out August 17 via Dead Oceans. Mitski will perform at Showbox SoDo on Wednesday, October 31. [ Pitchfork ]



Edinburgh trio Young Fathers released their third studio album Cocoa Sugar earlier this year. Today, the experimental hip-hop band has shared visuals for album track “Holy Ghost.” Directed by Oscar Hudson, the video was shot with a long-range thermal military surveillance camera, “...a piece of kit generally used by the military for border security and other unfriendly war-zone type operations that involve spotting people who are a long way away,” explains Hudson. “It was super difficult to actually get our hands on one as there aren't very many of them out there and the ones that do exist circulate solely within the surveillance industry rather than the film industry. It was really interesting reaching out across that line because whilst the two worlds share so much in common, they speak entirely different languages and operate in very different ways. But after months of scouring the earth in search of one that wasn't stuck in a warzone we found one 30 mins away in Hertfordshire.” Cocoa Sugar follows 2015’s White Men Are Black Men Too. Catch Young Fathers at the Showbox on Friday, November 16. [ Under the Radar ]



Mark Kozelek has announced a new Sun Kil Moon album called This Is My Dinner, due for release on November 1 via Glassnote. Written during his 2017 European tour and recorded in Copenhagen, the album features a number of covers including AC/DC’s “Rock ‘N’ Roll Singer,” and the Partridge Family’s “Come On Get Happy.” The latter has been shared today via the Sun Kil Moon website (the irony of Kozelek singing such an upbeat song about being happy is not likely lost on anyone). In May, he released Mark Kozelek. [ Consequence of Sound ]

Liars have shared the second song from their score for the feature film 1/1 from writer/director Jeremy Phillips. Written and recorded in 2014, after Mess, the soundtrack is the last to feature Aaron Hemphill before he left the band to focus on his own projects. 1/1 is a drama set in rural Pennsylvania that follows one woman and her struggles with sex, drugs, love and loss. The song, “No Now Not Your Face,” comes with a video of shots from the film, made by Phillips. Previously, the band had shared the song “Liqourice” off the album. [ SPIN ]



Local indie band Versing have announced that they’ve been signed to Sub Pop sister label Hardly Art. In celebration, they shared a new single called “Silver Dollar.” The distortion-filled song tells the story of someone guilty of a hit-and-run who gets away with it due to privilege (a la Ethan Couch). Versing’s last record, Nirvana, came out via Help Yourself while their debut, Nude Descending, was released through Youth Riot Records. Versing will play West Seattle Fest on Friday, July 13. [ Stereogum ]



Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Monday Music News

Tyler the creator shares his spin on a Jacquees track, Gorillaz perform new album in full, Forth Wanderers share a video, and a Radiohead rarity emerges.

Read More
Daily Roundups

Friday Music News

Death Cab for Cutie perform new song on The Late Show plus new music from Underworld and Iggy Pop, Wet, Sleigh Bells frontwoman Alexis Krauss, and Beak.

Read More
Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

St. Vincent and Florence + The Machine unveil videos, while Gorillaz, The Mary Onettes, and Still Corners share new music.

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site