Wednesday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson
photo by Melissa Wax (view set)
  • Destroyer, aka Dan Bejar, shared a new video today for "Stay Lost" from his 2017 album ken. Directed by and starring Maxwell McCabe Lokos, formerly the keyboardist of Deadly Snakes, the clip seems initially to focus on a man likely building a house but as the video continues we see that he's on to something different. McCabe-Lokos said of the clip: "The video tries to capture the song's wit and ability to portray someone's preoccupation, their metaphysical condition, with so few words. Stay Lost - an endorsement for those who don't fit, for those who will build their own totems, and revel in their ability to do it." Catch Destroyer on Thursday, February 8 at the Neptune Theatre. [ Under the Radar ]
  • Last month, Jack White teased a new album with the release of a bizarre sound collage called "Servings and Portions From My Boarding House Reach." Today he's officially announced the follow-up to 2014's Lazaretto which is indeed called Boarding House Reach due to be released later this year on Columbia/Third Man. He's also shared two songs from the album, the soulful "Connected By Love" and the rollicking "Respect My Commander." The former comes with an apocalyptic video. The “Connected By Love” b/w “Respect Commander” single is available for purchase here. [ Rolling Stone ]

  • Charlotte Gainsbourg released her first album in 6 years, Rest, last year and has been churning out a steady stream of videos for songs off the album. Today she shared the visuals for "I'm A Lie," which focuses primarily on Gainsbourg as she sits on a folding chair in an empty room, submerged in water. As with the previous videos for "Deadly Valentine," "Rest," "Ring-A-Ring O' Roses," "Lying With You," and "Les Oxalis," Gainsbourg directed the video herself. [ SPIN ]
  • In the recently released season four of Black Mirror, the episode titled "Hang the DJ" (a reference to The Smiths song "Panic") includes two new Sigur Rós songs. The director of the episode, Alex Somers, has frequently collaborated with both Jónsi and his Icelandic band. The entire soundtrack for the episode is available, including the two Sigur Rós songs "Match" and "End". [ Brooklyn Vegan ]
  • Chromatics leader Johnny Jewel has announced a new instrumental solo album entitled Digital Rain. It follows last year's Windswept, which included music used for the Twin Peaks revival. In a very poetic statement from Jewel about the album, he states that he "wanted to make a record without drums, without lyrics, vague in form. Each track morphing and eclipsing the next like the ever-changing movement of clouds obscuring the moon." Digital Rain is out Jan. 26 via Italians Do It Better. [ Pitchfork ]
  • Los Angeles rapper Busdriver succinctly stated in a tweet today "Im back." And back he is, with the new single "GUSH," his first release since the 2016 single "BlondeCurd." The feverish track shows off Busdriver's dexterous rhymes as he nimbly spills out lyrics over a simple, throbbing beat. His last mixtape was 2015's Thumbs. [ Stereogum ]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

tUnE-yArDs are returning next week with a new album, I can feel you creep into my private life, and today we've received the third single from the album, "Heart Attack." The fun, upbeat track shows the new, more accessible direction the band is taking. This will be the first album where the band, p…

Read More
Daily Roundups The Afternoon Show w/ Kevin Cole The Midday Show w/ Cheryl Waters

KEXP DJs Pick Their Most Anticipated Albums for 2018

2017 has officially come to a close, which means it's time to start looking ahead to some of the exciting new records ahead of us in 2018. We asked some of KEXP's DJs which albums they're most looking forward to in the coming year, both confirmed and alluded to by the artists themselves. From legen…

Read More