Shopping - Initiative

Song of the Day
Hosted by Kevin Cole
Today's Song of the Day, as chosen by Kevin Cole, host of The Afternoon Show on KEXP, is “Initiative” by Shopping, from the 2020 album All or Nothing on FatCat Records.
photo by matt draper
written by Janice Headley

Formed in London, now based in Glasgow (except for the bassist, who lives in Los Angeles), post-punk trio Shopping actually wrote today's Song of the Day from a basement here in Seattle. The song thrums with new wave energy, punctuated by Rachel Aggs' staccato guitar riff. Think Devo meets Gang of Four with better hair. The accompanying video, directed by Jack Barraclough, finds the band bringing the anxious tension of the song to the workplace. (Maybe that's the Seattle inspiration?)

On the band's forthcoming fourth album, All Or Nothing, the young group teamed up with producer Davey Warsop who adds a polish missing from their previous releases. “In the spirit of the album title, we figured we would take a leap into the kind of pop production we’ve always dreamed about,” says bassist Billy Easter via a press release.

All Or Nothing will be out February 7th via Fat Cat, and the threesome embark on tour shortly thereafter, including a Friday, March 6th stop at the Sunset Tavern. Check out the complete tour schedule below, as well as the group's 2019 performance from London during KEXP's International Clash Day broadcast.

TOUR DATES
Fri. Feb. 7 - London, UK @ Rough Trade East
Sun. Feb. 9 - Bristol, UK @ Rough Trade Bristol
Mon. Feb. 10 - Nottingham, UK @ Rough Trade Nottingham
Thu. March 5 - Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *
Fri. March 6 - Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern *
Sat. March 7 - Vancouver, BC @ The Biltmore *
Mon. March 9 - Reno, NV @ Holland Project * 
Tue. March 10 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop *
Wed. March 11 - Los Angeles, CA @ 1720 *
Thu. March 12 - San Diego, CA @ UCSD *
Sat. March 14 - Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress (Spring Thing) *
Mon. March 16 - Sat. March 21 - Austin, TX @SXSW
Mon. March 23 - Tallahassee, FL @ The Bark *
Tue. March 24 - Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade - Purgatory *
Wed. March 25 - Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *
Thu. March 26 - Washington, DC @ DC9 *
Fri. March 27 - Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *
Sat. March 28 - Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere *
Sun. March 29 - Portsmouth, NH @ The Press Room *
Tue. March 31 - Toronto, ON @ The Monarch *
Thu. April 2 - Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx *
Fri. April 3 - Fort Wayne, IN @ The Brass Rail *
Sat. April 4 - Chicago, IL @ Subterranean *
Sun. April 5 - Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry *
Tue. April 7 - St. Louis, MO @ Sinkhole *
Wed. April 8 - Lawrence, KS @ White Schoolhouse *
Thu. April 9 - Denver, CO @ Hi Dive *
Fri. April 10 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court *
Tue. May 5 - London, UK @ The Lexington
Wed. May 6 - Paris, FR @ Supersonic
Fri. May 8 - Utrecht, NL @ ACU
Sat. May 9 - Hamburg, DE @ Molotow (SkyBar)
Sun. May 10 - Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA Ideal Bar
Mon. May 11 - Berlin, DE @ Urban Spree
Thu. May 14 - Vienna, AT @ Fluc Café
Fri. May 15 - Prague, CZ @ Meetfactory
Sat. May 16 - Munich, DE @ Milla
Sun. May 17 - Bern, CH @ Reitschule/Rössli
Tue. May 19 - Winterhur, CH @ Albani
Thu. May 21 - Luxembourg, LU @ De Gudde Wellen
Sat. May 23 - Offenbach, DE @ Hafen 2

* = w/ Automatic

More From Song of the Day

Today's Song of the Day, as chosen by Cheryl Waters, host of The Midday Show on KEXP, is "Sandwiches" by Gordi,from the 2020 album Our Two Skins on Jagjaguwa...

Today's Song of the Day, as chosen by Cheryl Waters, host of The Midday Show on KEXP, is "Kyoto" by Phoebe Bridgers, from the 2020 album Punisher on Dead Oce...

Today's Song of the Day, as chosen by John Richards, host of The Morning Show on KEXP, is "Stop Pretending" by Deep Sea Diver, a 2020 self-released single. ...

Click anywhere to return to the site