Piroshka - Everlastingly Yours

Song of the Day
Hosted by John Richards
Today's song, featured on The Morning Show with John Richards, is "Everlastingly Yours" by Piroshka, from the 2019 album Brickbat on Bella Union.
PHOTO BY Neil Stewart

Piroshka is a brand new UK alt-rock supergroup made up of former Lush vocalist/guitarist Miki Berenyi, former Moose guitarist KJ “Moose” McKillop, Modern English bassist Mick Conroy and former Elastica drummer Justin Welch. Named after the Hungarian take on the folktale "Little Red Riding Hood," the band is taking the Hungarian influences to their debut album’s title as well with their new album Brickbat – translating to “missile” in the Central European country’s tongue. The record is due for release Feb. 15 via Bella Union.

Today’s Song of the Day is the album’s lead single “Everlastingly Yours,” which takes Lush’s signature dreamy shoegaze and adds a heaviness to the lyricism. On the song, Berenyi sings, “Trample my dreams on the ground/ Tear up my flowers/ And scatter the petals around / I’m not afraid to reach down inside to something within me/ That gives me the power to rip out his heart/ And shatter his bones with a smile.”

Piroshka was recently added to the lineup for this year’s International Clash Day London broadcast, where they will perform a live broadcasted set for KEXP at 1:30 PM PST / 9:30 PM GMT on Wednesday, February 6. Check out the full schedule of performances here. Below, watch the video for “Everlastingly Yours,” directed by Chris Bigg and Martin Andersen, which plays on the album artwork and allows the viewer to develop their own narrative through a series of stills.


More From Song of the Day

Today's Song of the Day, as chosen by Gabriel Teodros, host of Early on KEXP, is "Alive Ain't Always Living" by Quelle Chris, from the 2022 album Deathfame ...

Today's Song of the Day, as chosen by Kevin Cole, host of Drive Time on KEXP, is " Taped in Front of a Live Studio Audience" by Damien Jurado, from the 2022 ...

Today's Song of the Day, as chosen by Kevin Cole, host of Drive Time on KEXP, is "Seven" by James and the Cold Gun, from the 2022 False Start EP on Venn Reco...

Click anywhere to return to the site