In Stores Now 9/18

In Stores Now

L.A. artist Ariel Pink returns this week with an album "dedicated to '60s-era LA cult songwriter Bobby Jameson, a promising artist whose career fizzled out early in a haze of management and label troubles, drug abuse and depression." KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the release is "a bit of a throwback for Pink, returning to the more experimental lo-fi sound of his earlier records on hook-filled songs ranging from warped psych-pop and eccentric boogie-funk to sci-fi new wave and dreamy post-punk."

Providence, RI band Deer Tick, led by songwriter John McCauley, return with two simultaneously released albums. "Vol. 1 focuses on the more folk-tinged and acoustic-oriented Deer Tick while Vol. 2 is a raucous set of garage-punk with strong hints of Deer Tick heroes the Replacements and Nirvana on a stellar set of candid, often self-deprecating songs." Brooklyn band Antibalas release "a concept album about oppression during 19th century America, with lengthy tracks of fierce Afrobeat grooves firmly in the tradition of Fela Kuti."

Emily Haines & the Soft Skeleton returns with their first album in a decade. It's the second full length from the frontwoman of Metric. And Mr. Lif & Akrobatik resurect their project The Perceptionists for the first time in twelve years.

  • Akrobatik / Mr. Lif / The Perceptionists - "Hose Down (feat. Syne)"
  • from Resolution on Mello Music Group
  • Angus & Julia Stone - "Chateau"
  • from Snow on Nettwerk
  • Antibalas - "Hook & Crook"
  • from Where the Gods Are in Peace on Daptone
  • Apollo Brown / Planet Asia - "The Aura"
  • from Anchovies on Mello Music Group
  • Ariel Pink - "Feels Like Heaven"
  • from Dedicated To Bobby Jameson on Mexican Summer
  • Arturo O'Farrill / Chucho Valdés - "Fathers, Mothers, Sons, Daughters"
  • from Familia: Tribute to Bebo & Chico on Motéma Music
  • Biblical - "Mature Themes"
  • from The City That Always Sleeps on Teepee Records
  • Big & Rich - "California"
  • from Did It for the Party on Big & Rich Records, LLC / Thirty Tigers
  • Black Kids - "If My Heart Is Broken"
  • from Rookie on self-released
  • Bruce Cockburn - "States I'm In"
  • from Bone on Bone on True North Records
  • Cat Stevens / Yusuf - "See What Love Did To Me"
  • from The Laughing Apple on Cat-O-Log Records / Decca / Verve
  • Dee Dee Bridgewater - "Hound Dog"
  • from Memphis...Yes, I'm Ready on OKeh Records / Sony Masterworks
  • Deer Tick - "Doomed from the Start"
  • from Deer Tick, Vol. 1 on Partisan
  • Deer Tick - "Look How Clean I Am"
  • from Deer Tick, Vol. 2 on Partisan
  • The Doors
  • from The Singles on Elektra / Rhino
  • Emily Haines & the Soft Skeleton - "Planets"
  • from Choir of the Mind on Last Gang Records
  • Foo Fighters - "The Sky Is A Neighborhood"
  • from Concrete and Gold on RCA
  • Galantis - "Hey Alligator"
  • from The Aviary on Big Beat / WEA
  • Gary Numan - "When The World Comes Apart"
  • from Savage (Songs from a Broken World) on BMG
  • Hank Williams III
  • from Greatest Hits on Curb
  • The Lone Bellow - "Walk Into a Storm"
  • from Walk Into a Storm on Descendant Records / Masterworks
  • Michael McDonald - "Wide Open"
  • from Wide Open on BMG
  • Mike Gordon - "Whirlwind"
  • from OGOGO on ATO
  • Mini Dresses - "Division"
  • from Mini Dresses on Joy Void
  • Myrkur - "Ulvinde"
  • from Mareridt on Relapse Records
  • Prophets Of Rage - "Unfuck The World"
  • from Prophets Of Rage on Fantasy
  • Ringo Starr - "We’re On The Road Again"
  • from Give More Love on Universal
  • Seaway - "Apartment"
  • from Vacation on Pure Noise
  • Seth MacFarlane - "Have You Met Miss Jones?"
  • from In Full Swing on Verve / Republic
  • Shawn Colvin - "Sunny Came Home"
  • from A Few Small Repairs [20th Anniversary Edition] on Columbia / Legacy / Sony Music
  • Son Little - "Kimberly's Mine"
  • from New Magic on Anti-
  • The Willowz - "Now You Know"
  • from Fifth on Thrill Me

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 9/25

Uk band The Horrors return with their fifth LP; KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "an expansive blend of brooding electro-rock, industrialized post-punk, shoegazerish space-rock and more, combining a majestic, adventurous sound with some of the band's most assured songwriting to date." Austr...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 9/11

Beloved Brooklyn band The National are back with their seventh album. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "another masterful set of brooding rock that injects a bit more electronic experimentation along with an occasional welcome return to rock aggression. As beautifully crafted and intricatel...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site