In Stores Now 9/11

In Stores Now

Beloved Brooklyn band The National are back with their seventh album. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it "another masterful set of brooding rock that injects a bit more electronic experimentation along with an occasional welcome return to rock aggression. As beautifully crafted and intricately arranged as always, the album is a powerful depiction of crumbling relationships and middle-aged regret." Seattle-via-Bellingham duo ODESZA release "another potent set of emotive electronic grooves with shimmering synths, mostly downtempo beats, occasional guest vocalists, treated vocal samples and dreamy melodies. The impressive guest lineup includes Leon Bridges, Regina Spektor and RY X."

Legendary west coast band The Dream Syndicate return with their first new album in 29 years. Yates notes the band, "were one of the more notable bands to emerge from LA's '80s-era Paisley Underground, which featured bands with a variety of modernized takes on '60s psych-rock," adding the new LP "is a strong return-to-form that finds the band more explosive than ever, combining expansive, distortion-laden guitar leads and driving rhythms with Steve Wynn's deadpan vocals and often-dark, noirish lyrics." Ted Leo returns with his first new album in seven years, "one of his more diverse outings, ranging from hook-filled anthemic rockers to dark and brooding ballads, with sharply crafted lyrics revolving around personal loss and political dysfunction."

Our neighbors to the north deliver some great new music this week. For his sixth album, Calgary artist Chad VanGaalen releases "a smartly crafted blend of soaring psych-pop, cosmic space-rock, jangly folk-rock, chugging glam and more, juxtaposing bright pop hooks with often-dark lyrics revolving around anxiety, alienation and mortality." And Toronto-based band Alvvays deliver "another impressive set of breezy dream-pop with fuzzy guitars, atmospheric synths, driving rhythms and wistful melodies with Molly Rankin's ethereal vocals and melancholy lyrics."

  • (Various Artists)
  • from Twin Peaks [Limited Event Series Original Soundtrack 2CD] on Rhino
  • (Various Artists)
  • from Twin Peaks (Music From The Limited Event Series) [Soundtrack] on Rhino
  • Alvvays - "Plimsoll Punks"
  • from Antisocialites on Polyvinyl
  • Antwood - "Derealization"
  • from Sponsored Content on Planet Mu
  • Beaches - "Arrow"
  • from Second of Spring on ADA / Chapter Music
  • Chad VanGaalen - "Old Heads"
  • from Light Information on Sub Pop
  • Cobra Man - "Ociffer"
  • from New Driveway on Goner Records
  • Death from Above 1979 - "NVR 4EVR"
  • from Outrage! Is Now on Last Gang Records / Warner Bros.
  • The Dream Syndicate - "Filter Me Through You"
  • from How Did I Find Myself Here? on Anti- / Epitaph
  • Faith Healer - "Light Of Loving"
  • from Try ;-) on Mint Records
  • Four Year Strong - "Heroes Get Remembered, Legends Never Die"
  • from Some of You Will Like This, Some of You Won't on Pure Noise
  • Gregg Allman - "I Love the Life I Live"
  • from Southern Blood on Rounder
  • Jack Johnson - "My Mind Is For Sale"
  • from All the Light Above It Too on Island / Republic
  • Jolie Holland / Samantha Parton - "You Are Not Needed Now"
  • from Wildflower Blues on Cinquefoil Records / Trade Root Music
  • Jonny Lang - "Stronger Together"
  • from Signs on Concord
  • Kedr Livanskiy - "ACDC ft. Martin Newell"
  • from Ariadna on 2mr
  • Kip Moore - "Blonde"
  • from Slowheart on MCA Nashville
  • Lali Puna - "Deep Dream"
  • from Two Windows on Morr Music
  • Living Colour - "Preachin' Blues"
  • from Shade on Megaforce / MRI
  • Midnight Sister - "Daddy Long Legs"
  • from Saturn Over Sunset on Jagjaguwar
  • Mike Stern - "Rise Again"
  • from Trip on Heads Up
  • Mogwai - "Party in the Dark"
  • from Every Country's Sun on Temporary Residence
  • The National - "Nobody Else Will Be There"
  • from Sleep Well Beast on 4AD
  • Neil Young - "Pocahontas"
  • from Hitchhiker on Reprise / Warner Bros.
  • Nick Mulvey - "Mountain To Move"
  • from Wake Up Now on Fiction / Harvest
  • ODESZA - "Higher Ground (feat. Naomi Wild)"
  • from A Moment Apart on Counter Records
  • Sparks - "Edith Piaf (Said It Better Than Me)"
  • from Hippopotamus on BMG
  • Ted Leo - "Can't Go Back"
  • from The Hanged Man on Superego
  • Thomas Rhett - "Craving You (feat. Maren Morris)"
  • from Life Changes on Big Machine Records / Valory
  • Toby Keith - "Wacky Tobaccy"
  • from The Bus Songs on Show Dog Nashville
  • Tori Amos - "Reindeer King"
  • from Native Invader on Decca
  • Walter TV - "Begotten"
  • from Carpe Diem on Sinderlyn
  • The Waterboys - "Do We Choose Who We Love"
  • from Out of All This Blue on BMG

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 9/18

L.A. artist Ariel Pink returns this week with an album "dedicated to '60s-era LA cult songwriter Bobby Jameson, a promising artist whose career fizzled out early in a haze of management and label troubles, drug abuse and depression." KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the release is "a bit of a ...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 9/4

LCD Soundsystem is back! James Murphy and company emerge from early retirement with their fourth studio album (and first in seven years). KEXP Music Director Don Yates declares it "a powerful return to form featuring some of Murphy's finest, most deeply felt songwriting with anxiety-fueled lyrics...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site