Courtney Barnett Announces New Album, Shares First Single "Rae Street"

Music News
07/07/2021
Janice Headley
photo by Mia Mala McDonald

Long-time KEXP fave Courtney Barnett has announced her third album, titled Things Take Time, Take Time, out November 12th on Mom+Pop Music / Marathon Artists. Today, she shares the opening track, the languid rocker "Rae Street." The single shines with the influence of her previous songwriting partner Kurt Vile, while resonating with her now-signature style of capturing an ordinary day with her sharp eye and wit. 

Things Take Time, Take Time was written over a two-year period, marking what's called "a particularly joyful time in her life." It was recorded towards the end of 2020 and early 2021 with producer / drummer Stella Mozgawa of Warpaint, and the comfort can be heard in the resulting intimate songs. 

Courtney will be stopping by Seattle on Tuesday, December 14th with Bartees Strange at the Paramount. Scroll down for all the North American tour dates, along with a video for her new single, and some classic KEXP performances below. 

North American Tour
Mon November 29 - Las Vegas, NA @Brooklyn Bowl with Bedouine
Tues December 1 - Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory with Bedouine
Thurs December 2 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Depot with Bedouine
Sat December 4 - Phoenix, AZ @ Van Buren with Bartees Strange
Sun December 5 - San Diego, CA @ Observatory North Park with Bartees Strange
Thu, December 9 - Los Angeles, CA - The Theater at Ace Hotel with Warpaint
Fri December 10 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Ace with Bartees Strange
Sun December 12 - San Francisco, CA @ The Fox with Bartees Strange
Tues December 14 - Seattle, WA @ Paramount with Bartees Strange
Wed December 15 - Vancouver, BC @ Commodore
Sat January 22 - Minneapolis, MN @ Palace Theatre with Julia Jacklin
Sun January 23 - Chicago, IL @ Chicago Theatre with Julia Jacklin
Tues January 25 - Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple Theatre with Julia Jacklin
Wed January 26 - Columbus, OH @ Express Live with Julia Jacklin
Fri January 28 - Nashville, TN @ Ryman with Julia Jacklin
Sat January 29 - Atlanta, GA @ The Eastern with Julia Jacklin
Mon January 31 - Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel with Shamir
Wed February 2 - Washington DC @ 9:30 Club with Shamir
Thurs February 3 - Washington DC @ 9:30 Club with Shamir
Fri February 4 - Philadelphia, PA @ The Met with Julia Jacklin
Sat February 5 - New York, NY @ Radio City Music Hall with Julia Jacklin
Tues February 8 - Boston, MA @ Wang Theatre with Shamir
Thurs February 10 - Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground with Shamir
Fri February 11 - Montreal, QC @ Mtelus with Shamir
Sat February 12 - Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall with Shamir

Related News & Reviews

Music News

Courtney Barnett Covers Fellow Australians Loose Tooth's “Keep On”

The track appears on the upcoming Milk Records compilation Milk On Milk.


Read More
Music News

Courtney Barnett Shares Cerebral Video for "Everybody Here Hates You"

Take a trip into Barnett's brain in the Danny Cohen-directed clip


Read More
Interviews

Courtney Barnett Talks Coming Face-to-Face With Her Emotions, Detective Shows, and Tell Me How You Really Feel

KEXP catches up with the Australian songwriter about her new album ahead of her in-studio performance on Oct. 8 at 12 PM PT.


Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site