In Stores Now 8/28

In Stores Now

Philadelphia band The War on Drugs return with the fourth album. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "an excellent set of expansive, '80s-steeped rock. Beautifully produced, the band's music has never sounded better than it does here with a bliss-inducing combination of expansive guitar leads, shimmering keyboards, synthetic strings, driving rhythms, scruffy, Dylanesque vocals and anthemic song hooks."

Other highlights this week include the debut from Filthy Friends, a supergroup featuring Corin Tucker (Sleater-Kinney), Peter Buck (R.E.M., The Minus 5), Scott McCaughey (Young Fresh Fellows, The Minus 5), Kurt Bloch (The Fastbacks) and Bill Rieflin (Ministry). It's "a well-crafted blend of energetic garage-rock, jangly post-punk, swaggering glam-rock and more." (You can hear the band LIVE on KEXP this Saturday, September 2nd as part of our Bumbershoot Music & Arts Festival in-studios.)

Dropping the word "Thee" from their name, Oh Sees return with their 19th album, "a continuation of the more experimental sounds of their two 2016 albums. It's a more dynamic and expansive take on the band's motorik psych-garage sound, with adventurous, shape-shifting songs that veer from high-energy guitar freakouts to trippy keyboard dream-pop." Queens Of The Stone Age deliver a "a potent set of streamlined hard-rock inflected with glam, New Wave, '70s guitar boogie and other styles. Produced by Mark Ronson, he helps provide a bit more punch and clarity while mainly staying out of the way of the band's pulverizing rock grooves." Virginia Beach band Turnover present "a strong set of dreamy indie-pop reminiscent at times of Real Estate, combining gently ringing surf guitars, wistful vocals and sunny melodies." And Austin band A Giant Dog bring "boisterous garage-rock and punchy power-pop, combining crunchy guitars, energetic rhythms, often anxiety-fueled lyrics and catchy pop hooks."

  • A Giant Dog - "Bendover"
  • from Toy on Merge
  • Chase & Status - "Big Man Skank (feat. Mr. Vegas)"
  • from Tribe on Virgin EMI
  • Chris Forsyth & the Solar Motel Band - "Have We Mistaken The Bottle For The Whiskey Inside"
  • from Dreaming in the Non-Dream on No Quarter
  • Cymbals - "Where Nothing Can Be Defined"
  • from Light in Your Mind on Tough Love
  • Dungen - "Trollkarlen och fågeldräkten (Version 2)"
  • from Häxan on Smalltown Supersound
  • EMA - "Down and Out"
  • from Exile In The Outer Ring on City Slang
  • Fifth Harmony - "Down (feat. Gucci Mane)"
  • from Fifth Harmony on Epic / Syco Music
  • Filthy Friends - "Despierta"
  • from Invitation on Kill Rock Stars
  • Flamin Groovies - "Cryin' Shame"
  • from Fantastic Plastic on Severn Records
  • The Fresh & Onlys - "Impossible Man"
  • from Wolf Lie Down on Sinderlyn
  • Gogol Bordello - "Walking On The Burning Coal"
  • from Seekers and Finders on Cooking Vinyl
  • Grieves - "Gutz"
  • from Running Wild on Rhymesayers
  • The Haunted - "Spark"
  • from Strength in Numbers on Century Media
  • Hype Williams - "Kathy goes 2 Haiti"
  • from Rainbow Edition on Big Dada
  • Iron & Wine - "Call It Dreaming"
  • from Beast Epic on Sub Pop
  • Jack Cooper - "A Net"
  • from Sandgrown on Trouble in Mind
  • Jan St. Werner - "Insuline"
  • from Spectric Acid on Thrill Jockey
  • Jane's Addiction - "STOP"
  • from Alive at Twenty-Five on Cleopatra Records
  • Lilly Hiatt - "Trinity Lane"
  • from Trinity Lane on New West
  • The Lovely Bad Things - "I Just Want You To Go Away"
  • from Teenage Grown Ups on Burger Records
  • Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real
  • from Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real on Fantasy
  • Mark Olson - "Dear Elisabeth"
  • from Spokeswoman of the Bright Sun on Glitterhouse Records
  • Maya Jane Coles - "Pulse"
  • from Take Flight on I/AM/ME
  • Old Dominion - "New York at Night"
  • from Happy Endings on RCA
  • PVRIS - "Walk Alone"
  • from All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell on BMG / Rise Records
  • Queens of the Stone Age - "Fortress"
  • from Villains on Matador
  • Superchunk - "Slack Motherfucker"
  • from Superchunk on Merge
  • Susanne Sundfør - "Undercover"
  • from Music for People in Trouble on Bella Union
  • Tera Melos - "Don't Say I Know"
  • from Trash Generator on Sargent House
  • Thee Oh Sees - "Animated Violence"
  • from Orc on Castle Face
  • Tobacco - "Prowler Champ"
  • from Ripe & Majestic on Rad Cult
  • Together PANGEA - "Money on It"
  • from Bulls and Roosters on Nettwerk
  • Turnover - "Sunshine Type"
  • from Good Nature on Run for Cover Records
  • Vijay Iyer Sextet
  • from Far From Over on ECM
  • The War on Drugs - "Thinking Of A Place"
  • from A Deeper Understanding on Atlantic
  • Widowspeak - "Dog"
  • from Expect the Best on Captured Tracks

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 9/4

LCD Soundsystem is back! James Murphy and company emerge from early retirement with their fourth studio album (and first in seven years). KEXP Music Director Don Yates declares it "a powerful return to form featuring some of Murphy's finest, most deeply felt songwriting with anxiety-fueled lyrics...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 8/21

Brooklyn-bred band Grizzly Bear return with their fifth LP, a release KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls "an adventurous set of densely layered and intricately arranged prog-pop, featuring a punchier, more beat-driven sound to more forcefully drive home the band's dark, imagistic lyrics of decay...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site