In Stores Now 8/14

In Stores Now

Philly-based band The Districts return with their third LP, what KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, "their strongest set to date, with a fuller, more dynamic and densely textured sound combining thick, swirling guitars, muscular rhythms and often-dark lyrics of isolation and dysfunctional relationships juxtaposed with anthemic, life-affirming choruses and sweeping melodies."

Guided By Voices deliver a new one: "the latest album from Robert Pollard & co. sounds like one of their strongest releases in quite a while, with more consistently stellar songs ranging from crunchy Who-style power pop to brooding psych-pop." On her fourth LP, Brooklyn-based artist Frankie Rose brings "an assured blend of propulsive, nocturnal synth-pop and shimmering, Cocteau Twins dream-pop."

The third solo album from Gillian Welch's longtime musical partner David Rawlings "is another smartly crafted blend of string-band music with elegiac folk-rock and orchestral country-soul, featuring Welch on harmony vocals along with accompaniment from acclaimed fiddler Brittany Haas and members of Old Crow Medicine Show and Dawes." Veteran British-bred band The Cribs return with their seventh full-length, "a solid set of grungy garage-rock. Recorded and mixed by Steve Albini, the album combines thick, rumbling guitars and muscular rhythms with fist-pumping song hooks." And the third LP from Providence, RI band Downtown Boys is "a hard-hitting blend of driving post-punk and raucous garage-rock, combining buzzing guitars, searing keyboards, wailing sax and energetic rhythms with Victoria Ruiz's impassioned vocals and politically militant, bilingual lyrics attacking racism, classism, and homophobia."

  • A.J. Croce - "Cures Just Like Medicine"
  • from Just Like Medicine on Compass
  • Alex Williams - "Little Too Stoned"
  • from Better Than Myself on Big Machine Label Group, LLC
  • Amy O - "Lavender Night"
  • from Elastic on Winspear
  • ...And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead - "Relative Ways"
  • from Source Tags & Codes: Expanded 15th Anniversary Edition [2LP] on Interscope/UMe
  • Bonobo - "The Shark"
  • from One Offs...Remixes & B Sides [2LP] on Tru Thoughts
  • The Cribs - "Rainbow Ridge"
  • from 24-7 Rock Star Shit on Sonic Blew
  • David Rawlings - "The Weekend"
  • from Poor David's Almanack on Acony Records
  • Dead Rock West
  • from More Love on Omnivore
  • The Districts - "Violet"
  • from Popular Manipulations on Fat Possum
  • Downtown Boys - "Lips That Bite"
  • from Cost of Living on Sub Pop
  • Emily Saliers - "Long Haul"
  • from Murmuration Nation on Megaforce / MRI
  • Frankie Rose - "Red Museum"
  • from Cage Tropical on Slumberland
  • Guided by Voices
  • from How Do You Spell Heaven on GBV, Inc.
  • Hamell on Trial - "SAFE"
  • from Tackle Box on New West
  • Hinder - "The Reign"
  • from The Reign on The End
  • Kelley Stoltz - "I'm Here for Now"
  • from Que Aura on Castle Face
  • Kesha - "Rainbow"
  • from Rainbow on Kemosabe / RCA
  • Kutmah - "Bury Me By The River (feat. Gonjasufi)"
  • from TROBBB! on Big Dada
  • Live - "Pain Lies On The Riverside"
  • from Mental Jewelry [25th Anniversary Edition] on Geffen
  • Lucky Soul - "No Ti Amo"
  • from Hard Lines on Crystal Paris Records
  • matt pond PA - "Still Summer"
  • from Still Summer on 131 Productions
  • Oneohtrix Point Never - "The Pure and the Damned (ft. Iggy Pop)"
  • from Good Time [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] on Warp
  • Paul Kelly - "Firewood and Candles"
  • from Life Is Fine on Cooking Vinyl
  • Rat Boy - "SCUM"
  • from Scum on Parlophone
  • So Much Light - "Artificial Sweeteners"
  • from Oh, Yuck on Anti-
  • Trailer Trash Tracys - "Eden Machine"
  • from Althaea on Domino / Double Six
  • Venom Inc. - "Dein Fleisch"
  • from Ave on Nuclear Blast America
  • Will Hoge - "Seventeen"
  • from Anchors on Edio
  • Woggles - "What You Think We Are"
  • from Tally Ho! on Wicked Cool Records

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 8/21

Brooklyn-bred band Grizzly Bear return with their fifth LP, a release KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls "an adventurous set of densely layered and intricately arranged prog-pop, featuring a punchier, more beat-driven sound to more forcefully drive home the band's dark, imagistic lyrics of decay...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 8/7

It's a great week for local music. The latest from Olympia-via-Seattle artist Briana Marela is what KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, "her strongest set to date of adventurous electro-pop. Co-produced by Juan Pieczanski and Ryan Heyner of Small Black, the album features a brighter, more dynami...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site