In Stores Now 7/28

In Stores Now

The highly-anticipated new album from Arcade Fire is finally here. KEXP's Music Director Don Yates notes, "Like their last album (2013's Reflektor), this one features a more dance-oriented sound... with takes on consumerism, social media, and content overload."

The latest release from the Death Cab For Cutie frontman Benjamin Gibbard is part of Turntable Kitchen's Sounds Delicious series of artists covering one of their favorite albums in its entirety. "Gibbard chose Teenage Fanclub's classic 1991 album, and while it's nice that he'll probably bring a bit more exposure to Teenage Fanclub, his fairly straightforward take of the album is somewhat pointless when the original Bandwagonesque is readily available. That said, Gibbard does a solid enough job paying tribute to his favorite record from his favorite band."

Toronto band Sam Coffey & the Iron Lungs share their fourth LP, "a potent, hook-filled blend of punkish power pop and '70s-steeped hard rock, combining crunchy guitars, energetic rhythms, sing-along choruses and anthemic song hooks." Annie Hart of Au Revoir Simone branches out on her own for a solo debut, which features a sweet, synthpop sound similar to her band, which is on hiatus. Stuart Howard (better known as Lapalux) invites a slew of guest vocalists on his latest, including JFDR, Louisahhh, Talvi, Raphaelle Standell-Preston, Camella Lobo, and Szjerdene Mulcare. And Omnivore Recordings reissues the 1972 self-titled full-length from country/soul artist Arthur Alexander. The expanded edition includes six bonus tracks, plus liner notes from Barry Hansen (former Warner Bros. staff writer).

  • Annie Hart - "I Don't Want Your Love"
  • from Impossible Accomplice on Uninhabitable Mansions
  • Arcade Fire - "Everything Now"
  • from Everything Now [Day Version] on Columbia / Sony Music
  • Arthur Alexander
  • from Arthur Alexander (reissue) on Omnivore Recordings
  • Ben Gibbard - "The Concept"
  • from Bandwagonesque on Atlantic / Canvasback / Turntable Kitchen
  • The Cars - "Let's Go"
  • from Candy-O [Expanded Edition] on Elektra / Rhino
  • The Cars - "Touch and Go"
  • from Panorama [Expanded Edition] on Elektra / Rhino
  • Elvis Presley
  • from A Boy From Tupelo: The Complete 1953-1955 Recordings on Legacy / RCA / Sony Music
  • Golden Retriever - "Sunsight"
  • from Rotations on Thrill Jockey
  • The Isley Brothers / Santana - "Total Destruction to Your Mind"
  • from Power of Peace on Legacy / Sony Music
  • Jerry Garcia / Merl Saunders - "Ain't No Woman (Like The One I've Got)"
  • from Garcia Live, Vol. 9: August 11th, 1974, Keystone Berkeley on ATO
  • Jillette Johnson - "Thumbelina"
  • from All I Ever See in You Is Me on New Rounder
  • Joe Nichols - "Baby Got Back"
  • from Never Gets Old on Red Bow Records
  • John Pizzarelli - "She's So Sensitive"
  • from Sinatra & Jobim at 50 on Concord Jazz
  • Joywave - "Rumors"
  • from Content on Hollywood
  • Juiceboxxx - "Freaking Out"
  • from Freaked Out American Loser on Dangerbird Records
  • Lapalux - "Flickering (feat. JFDR)"
  • from Ruinism on Brainfeeder
  • Manchester Orchestra - "The Alien"
  • from A Black Mile to the Surface on Loma Vista
  • Oceans Ate Alaska - "Hansha"
  • from Hikari on Fearless Records
  • People Like You - "Variations on an Aria"
  • from Verse on Top Shelf Records
  • Pet Shop Boys - "One-Way Street"
  • from Fundamental: Further Listening 2005-2007 on Parlophone / Rhino
  • Sam Coffey and the Iron Lungs - "Judy"
  • from Sam Coffey and the Iron Lungs on Burger Records
  • Shaman's Harvest - "Red Hands Black Deeds (Prelude)"
  • from Red Hands Black Deeds on Mascot Records
  • Umm - "Yeah I Want It"
  • from Double Worshipper on Majestic Litter
  • Vic Mensa - "Homewrecker (feat. Weezer)"
  • from The Autobiography on Roc Nation

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 8/7

It's a great week for local music. The latest from Olympia-via-Seattle artist Briana Marela is what KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, "her strongest set to date of adventurous electro-pop. Co-produced by Juan Pieczanski and Ryan Heyner of Small Black, the album features a brighter, more dynami...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 7/24

West coast rapper Tyler, The Creator shares his fourth LP, which boasts the FCC-unfriendly title Scum Fuck Flower Boy. (A representative for TTC says the "official title" is just Flower Boy.) The album features guest appearances by Frank Ocean, ASAP Rocky, Anna of the North, Lil Wayne, Jaden Smit...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site