Friday Music News

Daily Roundups
Jasmine Albertson
photo by Amber Knecht
  • Can you believe it's been 20 years since OK Computer was released?! In honor of that special anniversary, Radiohead are releasing a special deluxe reissue called OKNOTOK. The album will feature three previously unreleased songs, along with the record's original 12 tracks and eight B-sides. One of those new tracks was revealed yesterday to be called "I Promise" and now there's a corresponding video. Directed by Michal Marczak the video follows a nighttime ride on the tram with an interesting twist at the end. Marczak has previously worked with Radiohead on last year's "Identikit" vignette and on Thom Yorke and Mark Pritchard's single "Beautiful People." Last night, BBC Radio 6 host Steve Lamacq premiered “I Promise,” saying he’d heard the band were “especially pleased to find [the song] in the vaults, because they thought it’d been lost over the years.” OKNOTOK will be released June 23rd on XL Recordings. [ Pitchfork ]
  • North Carolina's premier indie rock band and Merge Records founders Superchunk have released a new split-single on Bandcamp, the proceeds of which will go to benefit Planned Parenthood. A-side is "I Got Cut" and the B-side is a cover of "Up Against the Wall" by the Tom Robinson Band. Frontman Mac McCaughan said of the release, "All people should have access to reproductive health care. All people should have control over their own bodies. ‘I Got Cut’ was inspired by images like the photograph of our current president surrounded by a bunch of other ancient white guys, all smiling as they took away access to reproductive health care for women all over the world...I felt like making a record in the punk rock tradition we grew up with, including the collage I created for the sleeve. Likewise, when we presented the concept to the artists involved, we proposed that the art be the size of an unfolded 7-inch sleeve, mirroring the style of all the singles we put out when we first started Merge over 25 years ago. As they were in 1989, the sleeves were printed by Barefoot Press in Raleigh (and they donated these to help the cause). We also put these together by hand like we did then." [ Consequence of Sound ]
  • French indie icons Phoenix have released a new track off their upcoming album Ti Amo called "Goodbye Soleil." It's the third track that's be released off the new album after "J-Boy" and the title track. Ti Amo is out June 9th via Glassnote. The band is kicking off their worldwide tour with the Governors Ball this weekend but unfortunately no Seattle dates have been announced. [ Spin ]
  • After a solid week of speculation, we *finally* have real answers about Arcade Fire's new album. It's called Everything Now (not Infinite Content as was speculated by most) and it will be released July 28 via their new label Columbia. They have also shared a video for the album's title track, which we previously heard snippets of from videos of the lucky few who had the 12" in hand. The song is the typical anthemic track we've gotten used to from Arcade Fire. Frontman Win Butler told BBC Radio 1’s MistaJam of the song: “There’s sort of an everything-nowness to life. I feel like almost every event and everything that happens surrounds you on all sides. It’s trying to capture some of the experiences of being alive now in all its flaws and all its glory.” Daft Punk's Thomas Bangalter and Pulp's Steve Mackey produced the album with the band, with co-production by Markus Dravus. The vinyl version of the LP will feature 20 different artwork variants, each bearing the album title in one of 20 different languages. They've also announced a tour, with a date at Key Arena on Sunday, October 15th. [ NME ]
  • Norwegian producer Todd Terje, also known as the "King of the Summer Jams" by some is back just in time to live up to that title. The follow up to his incredibly fun 2014 disco-house record It's Album Time is still in the works and will be called Numero Twomero (if there's a better album title out there for sophomore album, we haven't heard it) but in the meantime he's appeased us by releasing a cover of Norwegian new wave duo Det Gylne Triangel's 1982 single "Maskindans" which features newly recorded vocals from Det Gylne Triangel's singer himself. The 12" also comes with a radio edit and a remix by Erol Alkan. Catch Terje at Marymoor Park on Tuesday, June 27th with Tycho and Jaga Jazzist. [ Stereogum ]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Monday Music News

Sufjan Stevens, Nico Muhly, Bryce Dessner, and James McAlister have teamed up for a collaborative album called Planetarium and Stevens has directed a new music video for the song "Venus" off the album. Stevens shared the stop-motion cut-out video to his Tumblr with the note, "Peace to you! Stay b...

Read More
Local Music Daily Roundups KEXP Suggests

KEXP Suggests: VanFest 8/19

Yesterday VanFest announced the lineup for their 7th iteration this summer, August 19th. If you've never heard of the scrappy DIY fest with the heart of gold then you'd be forgiven since the fest takes place deep in the woods of Maple Valley but you should start paying attention because this tiny...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site