KEXP Live at Iceland Airwaves 2017, Day 2

Iceland Airwaves
11/02/2017
Katy McCourt-Basham
Photo by Janice Headley

Another day, another dollar (or is it another krona?). While I'm not quite sure what the conversion rate is for days and poorly-executed metaphors here in Iceland, one thing I am sure of is that we are bringing you another incredible day of live music here at Kex Hostel during Iceland Airwaves Music Festival. While most of the city was still waking up, a lucky few were treated to an early set from Emiliana Torrini (it wasn't on-air, but it will be on YouTube later!). If you missed it, fear not, we have some wonderful music ahead. First up, some dream-pop from Icelandic songwriter JFDR, followed by the trippy soundscapes of Icelandic psych band Par-Ðar. Russian post-punk band ГШ (Glintshake) will take us into the evening, while the angsty defiance of Icelandic punk band Hórmónar will send us off into the night with a roar.

01:00PM local time/06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – JFDR03:30PM local time/08:30AM PST/ 11:30AM EST – Par-Ðar06:00PM local time/11:00AM PST/ 02:00PM EST – Glintshake8:30PM local time/01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – Hórmónar

Related News & Reviews

Iceland Airwaves Song of the Day The Afternoon Show w/ Kevin Cole

Song of the Day: Högni – Komdu Með

Every Monday through Friday, we deliver a different song as part of our Song of the Day podcast subscription. This podcast features exclusive KEXP in-studio performances, unreleased songs, and recordings from independent artists that our DJs think you should hear. This week, we are featuring song...


Read More
Iceland Airwaves

KEXP Live at Iceland Airwaves 2017, Day 1: Hatari

Wow, what an unbelievable end to a great day of live music. Day one of the Airwaves broadcast live from Kex Hostel closed with a bang as we welcomed Iceland’s favorite new live act Hatari. Icelandic for "Hater," Hatari was formed by Klemens Hannigan, Matthías Tryggvi Haraldson, and Einar Stéfanss...


Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site