Iceland Airwaves is Here Again!

Iceland Airwaves
10/31/2017
Katy McCourt-Basham
Photos by Jim Bennett

It’s Tuesday afternoon here in charming Reykjavik, Iceland, and the city is gearing up for one of its biggest events of the year: Iceland Airwaves Music Festival. People are talking about new bands, comparing notes and schedules, and are preparing for five full days jam-packed with live music from all over the world. Though the festival doesn’t officially start until tomorrow, we’re getting things going early, streaming two great Icelandic acts to shake your booty to. Warming up the stage at Kex Hostel tonight will be Bangoura Band, an afro-beat band from The Reykjavik suburb of Kópavogur--streaming at 8PM local time (1pm PST/3pm EST) and DJ duo Kiasmos (one half of which is Ólafur Arnalds-brilliant composer and long-time friend of KEXP) streaming live at 10 pm locally (3pm PST/6pm EST). We aren’t waiting to get our Airwaves 2017 going, and neither should you! Stream the video live here, and be sure to tune in all week for our annual live broadcast and live stream on Facebook and at KEXP.org.

Related News & Reviews

Iceland Airwaves

Iceland Airwaves 2017, Day 1

It's a clear, crisp afternoon in beautiful Reykjavík, Iceland and locals and visitors alike are gearing up for what is sure to be another great year at Iceland Airwaves Music Festival. Here at Kex Hostel, the KEXP road crew is putting the finishing touches on our preparations for this year's off-...


Read More
Iceland Airwaves Song of the Day The Afternoon Show w/ Kevin Cole

Song of the Day: Hórmónar – Kynsvelt

Every Monday through Friday, we deliver a different song as part of our Song of the Day podcast subscription. This podcast features exclusive KEXP in-studio performances, unreleased songs, and recordings from independent artists that our DJs think you should hear. This week, we are featuring song...


Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site